Hannon and Turner Appointed to Grand Final

This Saturday Leichardt Oval will host the 2015 New South Wales Rugby League Junior Representative Grand Finals with the champions of both the Harold Matthews Cup and the SG Ball Cup to be decided on the day.

The Penrith District Rugby League Referee’s Association is extremely proud to report that two of our members have been appointed to officiate on this prestigious day of rugby league in New South Wales.

On Tuesday, the New South Wales Rugby League Referee’s Association announced that Tim Hannon will take control of the Harold Matthews Cup Grand Final between Parramatta and Cronulla, while fellow Penrith member Cameron Turner will be a touch judge for the same fixture. This will be the first junior representative grand final appearance for both members.

Tim joined the Penrith Association in 2005 and first reached the Junior Representative Squad in the 2008 season. In recent years he has appeared regularly in A Grade Division One fixtures in the Penrith District and has officiated in numerous SG Ball and Harold Matthews games. He is the first Penrith member to referee a Junior Representative Grand Final since Lawrence McDonell took control of the SG Ball Cup Grand Final in 2010.

Cameron joined the Penrith Association in 2006 and first reached the Junior Representative Squad in 2014. This season Cameron made his debut as a referee in the Harold Matthews competition and has established himself as a regular A Grade referee in the Penrith District. He also continues to build on an impressive resume as a touch judge, with regular appearances in the SG Ball Cup and a GIO Schoolboy Cup Semi Final (2014). Cameron will take the field on Saturday 17 years after his father and Penrith Life Member Russell Turner officiated in the same Grand Final.

The Association congratulates both members on this fantastic achievement.

2015 Harold Matthews Cup Grand Final

Parramatta Eels v Cronulla Sharks

Saturday, 9 May 2015

Leichardt Oval

Referee: Tim Hannon

Touch Judges: Cameron Paddy / Cameron Turner

In Goal Judges: Shaun Greentree / Daniel Luttringer

Standby Referee: Jo West

Standby Touch Judge: Zac Schembri